Advertisement


Rent Increase Survey

Have you submitted your latest rent increase data to the rent increase survey?

Alameda Redevelopment Services Agency Proposes Shutting Down Film-Commission

In a clearly cynical move, the City of Alameda Redevelopment Services department is pushing to shut down the City of Alameda Film Commission for two years.

As Alameda residents know, many films and TV programs including The Matrix and Mythbusters have been shot at Alameda Point. It’s clearly an attempt to shut down any economic activity at Alameda Point so as to further the Redevelopment Services Dept. and Planning Dept.’s goal of filling up Alameda Point with houses. City of Alameda employee Ms. Leslie Little, who heads up the Redevelopment Services Department – which provides staff support for the film commission – is on the board of the California Redevelopment Association, a Sacramento lobby group who represents home builders, developers and other firms that benefit from redevelopment subsidies.

Alameda residents may want to write to City Council and the local newspapers to insist that the film commission stay active and work to bring film industry jobs and business to Alameda.

Mayor Beverly Johnson 510-747-4701 bjohnson@ci.alameda.ca.us

Vice Mayor Lena Tam 510-747-4722 ltam@ci.alameda.ca.us

Council Member Doug deHaan 510-747-4728 ddehaan@ci.alameda.ca.us

Council Member Marie Gilmore 510-747-4729 mgilmore@ci.alameda.ca.us

Council Member Frank Matarrese 510-747-4726 fmatarrese@ci.alameda.ca.us

Alameda Daily News newsman@jps.net

Action Alameda News aanbletters@actionalameda.org

Alameda Sun editor@alamedasun.com

Alameda Journal ajletter@bayareanewsgroup.com

East Bay Express letters@EastBayExpress.com

Comments are closed.

  • Library To Host Creative Writing Workshop For Teens https://t.co/nTsVqPkP47 ,
  • Library To Host Creative Writing Workshop For Teens https://t.co/z9s9aa9PmA ,
  • https://t.co/8TGoKkLovE ,
  • #ALAMEDA PD: 1700 Cambridge/2900 Northwood searched for a possible suspect. Area cleared. Shelter in place lifted. https://t.co/9FSsYS59x3 ,
  • #ALAMEDA PD: Residents on Northwood and Cambridge area to shelter in place due to heavy police activity. All others to avoid area.No ETA. ,

Directories