Advertisement



Earthquake

Do you have confidence in local authorities' ability to respond to a major earthquake affecting Alameda? Let us know: newstips@action-alameda-news.com

Alameda Firefighters Third Town Hall Forum

Alameda Firefighters 3rd Town Hall Forum

When: Wednesday March 11th, 7pm
Where: Otaez Restaurant (Up stairs) 1619 Webster St, Alameda

Please attend to learn more about the affects of the BROWNOUTS!
There will be a presentation from the Alameda Firefighters President Dom Weaver, followed by a question and answer session.

Since January 26th, BROWN OUTS have occurred on 34 of 41 days! (as of 3/08/09)

Due to the Closures, there have been 62 delayed responses! RIGHT NOW The City Manager and the Fire Chief are implementing the proposed “BROWNOUTS”

When staffing is at 25 or 26, the ambulance on Bay Farm Island will be closed. The closure of the ambulance carrying two multi-role firefighters will be a 40% decrease in the level of service to the citizens of Bay Farm.

When Staffing is at 24, the West End Fire Truck (serving Alameda Point, West Alameda and the Gold Coast) will be placed out of service.

According to the Fire Chief there will never be more the one unit browned out at a time.

Please continue to contact your City Officials, Put a STOP to placing citizens and Firefighters safety in jeopardy!

Fire Chief Dave Kapler 510-337-2102 dkapler@ci.alameda.ca.us
Mayor Beverly Johnson 510-747-4701 bjohnson@ci.alameda.ca.us
Vice Mayor Doug deHaan 510-747-4728 ddehaan@ci.alameda.ca.us
Council Member Lena Tam 510-747-4722 ltam@ci.alameda.ca.us
Council Member Marie Gilmore 510-747-4729 mgilmore@ci.alameda.ca.us
Council Member Frank Matarrese 510-747-4726 fmatarrese@ci.alameda.ca.us
City Manager David Brandt 510-747-4700 dbrandt@ci.alameda.ca.us

Any cuts to daily staffing by decreasing the number of firefighters on duty below 27 on the five fire engines, two aerial ladder trucks, and three advanced life support ambulances, represents an immediate threat to health and safety of the public as well as firefighters.

Please visit www.savealamedafirehouses.com to learn more!

Comments are closed.

  • #alameda rainbow... http://t.co/xMUmoduwsK ,
  • Motorists to Face Bridge Closures in the New Year http://t.co/ENdrRsHRzp ,
  • RT : FAAS: November is Adopt a Senior Pet month. Free adoptions of senior cats or dogs to qualified adopters. http://t.co/yWTC5mwqhf #Alameda ,
  • RT : Chestnut-backed Chickadee grabbing bugs on #Alameda Point pine cones at Bay Trail http://t.co/FhX668AXuI ,
  • Councilmember-Elect to Petition Council Tonight to Defer Point Vote http://t.co/fVY5rg2pYz ,

Directories